PDA

View Full Version : QUESTION ABOUT KNITTING WITH DOUBLE YARN

carla25
07-20-2007, 07:05 PM
I AM GOING TO KNIT A BLANKET AND THE PATTERN CALLS TO "USE DOUBLE YARN THROUGHTOUT" I HAVE NEVER DONE THIS BEFORE AND I AM NOT SURE WHAT TO DO. I THINK I GET THE CONCEPT OF HOLDING 2 PIECES OF YARN. ALSO THE DIRECTIONS SAY CAST ON 73 STITCHES, WELL THAT IS CONFUSING TO ME, IF YOU ARE GOING TO BE USING 2 PIECES OF YARN.....OR AM I WRONG...PLEASE HELP!!!!!

psammeadred
07-20-2007, 07:09 PM
Just hold two pieces of yarn together and treat them like they're just one big yarn. That's all there is to it!

Ingrid
07-20-2007, 07:10 PM
There will be two strands in your loops, but they'll both be coming out of one stitch, so you'll be able to see what to do just fine. After a while, you won't even notice.

carla25
07-20-2007, 07:16 PM
Just hold two pieces of yarn together and treat them like they're just one big yarn. That's all there is to it!

SO INSTEAD OF COUNTING THE "2" YARNS AS "2" COUNT THEM AS
"1" STITCH, AND THEN THAT WILL GIVE THE ODD # OF 73 CAST ONS???

ALSO ONE MORE QUESTION HOW DO YOU KNOW WHAT THE RIGHT SIDE IS?

Ingrid
07-20-2007, 07:18 PM
Yes, count each double stranded stitch as one.

The pattern should tell you which row is the right side. Often it's the odd number rows, but not always.

BTW--When you post in all caps, it 'sounds' like you're yelling.:shifty:

carla25
07-20-2007, 07:23 PM
Sorry, I want do that no more :) like I said this is my first time doing this so I am not sure. It just says
"Row 9(RS) p1,k1,p1.........etc.... I will look over the pattern one more time but I didn't see where it said the RS was

carla25
07-20-2007, 07:29 PM
okay i see what you are saying now, this is the first pattern that I have knitted by...takes time to figure out...

Arielluria
07-20-2007, 07:41 PM