PDA

View Full Version : Cotton Yarn ideas?

spinner
07-23-2007, 08:39 PM
I usually don't do this. I've been knitting about 8 years. I live in San Diego County, California and am always looking for knitting other than wools (too hot and itchey). I've learned loads and am proud of the stuff I can now produce. The site you have with the videos is the most superb thing on the net for knitters. It's enabeled me to do Christmas stockings and to learn how to pick up stitches and has refreshed my memory of things I don't do often. You're tops. Anyone with good ideas on yarns that involve cotton that don't "grow" would be most helpful. I'm still learning and have a long way to go. Am takaing on the "windmill" of the San Diego fair and how the knitting is handeled. Will let you all know if there are any changes next year. It's all in the interest of sanity. Thanks.
Louise Anderson
San Maracos, CA

Jan in CA
07-24-2007, 02:10 PM
I'm not sure so I'll bump this up.

Luvmyrottnboy
07-24-2007, 02:28 PM
My absolute favorite cotton is King Tut.

It is soft and has a beautiful sheen. The colors are gorgeous and it is very nice to work with.

I have made two summer tops (working on a third now!) and haven't had any growth issues with either one.

www.littleknits.com has it on sale.

A less expensive cotton/acrylic blend I like is TLC Cotton Plus.

debinoz
07-24-2007, 10:35 PM
I'm making my mom a lapghan for Christmas out of plain old peaches/sugar & cream.

sugarfunpouch
07-24-2007, 11:12 PM
Lion (Brand) Cotton and Lily's Sugar and Cream cotton are the best!

marykz
07-25-2007, 09:40 AM
Lion Brand Cotton Ease is a cotton/acrylic blend that in theory doesn't grow as much as 100% cotton.

the King Tut cotton mentioned above is AWESOME- lovely sheen, nice drape- and not too stretchy in my hands.