PDA

View Full Version : I bought a wheel!

Jess_knit
07-25-2007, 09:57 AM
I'm so excited! I've been saving up to buy a Fricke S-160 DT for a couple months, and I finally bought my wheel from Woodland Woolworks on Sunday!

I got a tracking number yesterday, and it's already in transit to some place in Illinois...I can expect it by Tuesday.
:woohoo:

KnitClickChick
07-25-2007, 12:23 PM
That's great! I have been wanting to spin for about a year now, but wheels are just not in my budget right now. I am saving up though. How did you decide what type of wheel to buy? If you have any tips I would much appreciate it.

Denali
07-25-2007, 10:07 PM
Congrads on the new wheel:yay: You will have so much fun with it. I've had mine for a little over a year now, and have done a great deal of spinning.

If you are not familiar with spinning, may I suggest going down to the local doggie shop for a free bag of fur. This will give you practice carding your own fiber, and you can spin it (assuming it's long enough anything about an inch long). That way when you get some really nice fiber you can spin it easier with fewer bumps and lumps. This is how I practiced, and my yarn is now looking more like yarn.

Jess_knit
07-26-2007, 01:00 AM
I don't have access to a shop at which I could try wheels (that seems to be the number one tip), so I did tons of research online. Mostly, I googled all kinds of stuff on wheels to learn what would suit me, and read reviews of wheels made by users. (Julie, your decision to buy a Fricke is what first turned me on to one!)

I'm really looking forward to being able to wheel spin, after a couple months of spindle spinning. I have some beautiful fibers just waiting to be turned into yarn. ;-)

Julie
07-26-2007, 02:45 PM
:mrgreen: :happydance: :thumbsup:

Awesome! I luuuurve my Fricke. :heart: Such a great starter wheel, can't beat the price, yet it doesn't feel basic, kwim?

So excited for you! :mrgreen:

Miss Kittie
07-26-2007, 02:51 PM