PDA

View Full Version : FO--Ugly to Unique Scarf!

laikabear
07-26-2007, 08:34 AM
Hi everyone, I am new to the forum and also to knitting. I just started learning this week from Amy's videos and a couple of library books (the videos are AWESOME). My first project is basically to try out different stitch patterns and color changes to get some practice. I cast on 20 stitches and have been changing the pattern every 10 rows or so. The result is likely to be an ugly scarf that no one wants to wear (including me). But I will be proud of it!

I am a vet and when I was learning to do surgery they said, "Your eyes will be amazed at what your hands have done." It's definitely true of knitting also!

So here's a picture of my poor ugly scarf (I hope I posted it correctly). Anyone else knit anything ugly they have a picture of? Or still have the first thing they knitted and want to share a pic? :mrgreen:

Three cheers for Amy, Knittinghelp.com, and the Knitting Forum!!!

ADAllen
07-26-2007, 09:03 AM
Don't doom it to ugly yet, that's a very cool blue, and some of the coolest scarfs I've seen on this forum were a compilation of all different stitches.

Susan P.
07-26-2007, 09:20 AM
My advice..don't think ugly..think..funky! :) Imagine round the neck of..Brad Pitt?? Lookin good round the neck of Brad..matches his eyes :thumbsup:

Twinnish
07-26-2007, 09:32 AM
That's a great way to practice new stitches! It's beautiful because YOU knit it! Hang on to it and someday you can look at it like it's a diary of your early knitting days. Think of it as earning your knitting chops!

Thanks for sharing!

Ingrid
07-26-2007, 10:00 AM
There ARE some ugly things out there--usually posted by the yarn manufacturer :rofl:--that scarf doesn't qualify. Sorry!:teehee:

nonny2t
07-26-2007, 10:38 AM
You are doing a great job and I agree, nothing we make is ugly! We look forward to seeing the completed, "original" patterned scarf!:thumbsup:

KT120
07-26-2007, 01:28 PM