PDA

View Full Version : First crochet EVER!!

knitqueen
07-27-2007, 07:14 PM
I'm branching out!! Bought myself a learn to crochet kit with birthday money from my MIL. I've been knitting for about 3 years now and have been feeling like a new challenge is in order. So far so good, I've learned single, half double, double and triple crochet stitches. Here's my first, a flower! :woohoo:

robynbird
07-27-2007, 09:24 PM
GREAT job!!!

Riss
07-27-2007, 09:44 PM
With that set of stitches... you can literally make ANYTHING. The only time i've needed to do a stitch any larger than a treble crochet is when you're making doilies with thread...

Good luck with your crocheting... and your little flower looks awesome!

--Riss

willowangel
07-28-2007, 07:22 AM
Yay well done! You've done it really well - it's very even :-) and the yarn's pretty, take a look at

http://www.theanticraft.com/archive/beltane06/maidensglory.htm

for what you can do with the flowers :-) I made one of these for the Beltane fire festival in Edinburgh, got lots of compliments ;-)

larudden
07-28-2007, 07:44 AM
:woot::woot::woot::woot::woot::woot::woot:
Great Job!

I love making flowers! There are so many different ways to use them!

Dishcloths work up real fast in crochet too! Grab some cotton and go! I do them sometimes with a different stitch on every row. It's great practice. (works for scarves too!)

Thanks for sharing!

EssenceRose
07-28-2007, 09:27 AM
well done! It's so even! My first crochet attempt was awful and lopsided. LOL You should be very proud of yourself! :yay:

wildforyarn
07-28-2007, 10:47 AM
Great job! My first crochet attempt (before I started knitting) was just to do a simple chain and when I was done it was supposed to be like 6 inches long or something like that and mine was 1.5 inches long. I was so frustrated I took on knitting instead. Maybe now that I understand yarn and needles a little more I should give it a go. I love the flower! The yarn is pretty too! Way to go! :cheering: