PDA

View Full Version : I am completely amazed!

kbagel
07-30-2007, 11:02 AM
I recently decided I need to start running again. So this morning that's exactly what I was doing, running at the gym. Ahead of me, on a stationary bike, was a woman knitting a sweater while riding. Not even a scarf or something really simple, a sweater. And she was riding hard and sweating a lot. Unfortunately, she left before I finished my workout and I never got the chance to talk to her. Can anyone else do this as well?

Quiltlady
07-30-2007, 11:03 AM
I'd be amazed too. Just running would be enough to wear me out let alone knitting too.:fingerwag:

knitwit628
07-30-2007, 11:57 AM
Actually, I was doing exactly that yesterday! I decided to exercise on the stationary bike we have in our basement and brought my knitting with me. While pedaling on the bike I was able to knit the sock I am making. It was awkward at first, but then I got the hang of it.

GinnyG
07-30-2007, 12:02 PM
I am a Cardiac Rehab Nurse, I teach people to exercise. I will often do a couple miles on the Tm at lunch time with my knitting in hand. A simple circular sweater or something that does not require alot of concentration.

minkoo
07-30-2007, 12:06 PM
I might do that at home if I had a bike. (but not at the gym though!) I can't imagine getting that much of a workout in, but I spin so maybe a regular bike isn't as intense. However I wouldn't consider it a real workout, just something to do on my off days perhaps.

I've seen people reading on a bike which isn't that odd (neither is knitting really)

The stuff people do at the gym is crazy sometimes. Like the one girl at the gym that turns off all the fans before class starts. What's up with that?

Silver
07-30-2007, 02:10 PM
I could understand knitting something small like socks or dishcloths. But a sweater? I wouldn't want to sweat all over something like a sweater. :ick:

jodstr2
07-30-2007, 05:45 PM