PDA

View Full Version : Which brand yarn is good ?

fusa
08-10-2007, 12:57 PM
I am new to knitting. I do not know anything about yarns.
Could anyone please help me find a yarn similar to
cleckheaton country in USA (I live in USA). The book I am following suggests this yarn.

BTW, I am trying to help my daughter to knit a scarf. The recomended needle is 6 and cleckheaton country 8 ply.

I would like to go to Joann or Michaels and buy some yarn that is similar or of the same quality of Cleckeaton country 8 ply yarn.

Thanks in Advance.

sinistral_needler
08-10-2007, 01:02 PM
While I am a long-time crocheter, I too would like yarn recommendations. I do realize that the smaller the yarn, the smaller the needle, and vice-versa.

However, what is the best kind of yarn for items such as socks? Hats? Slippers? I can figure out what would be good for a blanket or even a scarf but I am just not too sure of myself when it comes to the choices for knitting!

With many of the projects I have seen, I feel like a total yarn and needle newbie all over again. :zombie::eyes:

TIA

knitncook
08-10-2007, 06:44 PM
Yarn is subjective. That's why there is so much of it :) Some people like working with acrylic because it is usually less expensive, can be easily machine washed, doesn't always need blocking, and comes in a multitude of colors and can be readily obtained from all kinds of sources (including, I have heard, Walmart). Some people are pure fiber snobs and if it isn't "real" (that is from a sheep or plant) they aren't interested. It may be that they prefer the feel, texture, the way it knits up, that it is natural, that it doesn't use petrochemicals, and that it's warmer (or cooler). Some people like the novelty stuff. If it is bumpy and chunky and knits up FUN they are all there. And then you have the eclectic group that knits with the fiber that they like at the moment, is the right color, the right price and the right weight. Sometimes that can truly limit your selection!