PDA

View Full Version : Circular Needles

GardenGirlKnitsToo
08-12-2007, 01:27 PM
Hi everyone. I'm new to knitting, and I have a problem...

So I'm making a shawl for my MIL, and it's knit on circular needles (though back and forth--I assume this is because of the number of stitches on the needle). But being a new knitter, and cheap :hmm: , I bought the least expensive circ needles I could find. I know, I know, you get what you pay for! :doh:

Anyway, no problem with the connect point between the needle and the circular part, it's smooth enough. The problem is with the flexible nylon part (I'm sure there is a name for this, but it escapes me, sorry). I ran it under boiling water for a couple of minutes to work the kinks out before I cast on, but two days later, it's just as stiff and unflexible as it was before I started. So my question is, if I spring for a more expensive set, will I still have this problem? And if not, do you have a recommended brand?

Thank you all for your advice here, I really appreciate it.

Cindy

sugarfunpouch
08-12-2007, 01:31 PM
Ooh. Bummer. Any other type of needles would probably work. What was the brand name of yours, if it had one?

brendajos
08-12-2007, 01:38 PM
There are Knit Picks Options, Addis, and Denise Interchangeables that would all be more flexible than most other brands. I would suggest them in that order as well. The knit picks and denise needles are both interchangeable so you will have a higher dollar output to begin with but you get several sets of needles in that price. And one thing to remember when considering needle costs, is that you will likely use them over and over again so the cost can really be broken down over the life of the needle. :)

debinoz
08-12-2007, 01:48 PM