PDA

View Full Version : Stupid newbie question of the day.

stirsmommy
08-15-2007, 09:03 PM
So what is the difference between intarsia, fair isle and interlac? I am trying to pick classes at my lys. One class is called two hand two color knitting and is making the "Starry Night Purse" by Cabin Fever.
Thanks

Lady Violet
08-15-2007, 09:11 PM
absolutely NOT stupid, and definitely NOT a newbie question. :fingerwag:
i've been knitting for almost 3 years and i don't know the difference, but i would really like to. :)

sugarfunpouch
08-15-2007, 09:24 PM
Intarsia is taking the yarn along with you. Fair Isle is having different strands for each color. Or the other way around. check out the videos though, it explains it well.

Ingrid
08-15-2007, 09:38 PM
Intarsia is where you have a separate motif or several among a background. Imagine hearts scattered around a sweater, or a teddy bear knit on a blanket.

Fair Isle, or stranded knitting, is where you carry the yarn along with you and use two (or more) colors over and over across the row.

Entrelac is a technique where you knit on the edges of boxes that you've knit and your knitting looks like squares going in different directions.

sugarfunpouch
08-15-2007, 09:39 PM
Thanks for clearing that up!

stirsmommy
08-15-2007, 09:46 PM
Thanks everyone. I think the class maybe for fair isle then. Ok I want to know that too. Now I have to see if I can teach myself intarsia from the video. I have decided on bags for my sister and sil and I know one of them is intarsia. The other is fair isle. Yes I know I am probably biting of more than I can chew for Christmas but honestly even before knitting I have done that every year.

astonh
08-16-2007, 11:56 AM