PDA

View Full Version : Errata?

McKnitty
08-17-2007, 11:15 AM
I read somewhere (perhaps this site?) that you should always check for errata before starting a pattern. Do you do this?

I'm not experienced enough to know if a pattern is wrong, so I guess I should check for corrections, but I'm not sure how to go about it.

If the pattern is in a book, do you check with the publisher? Same with magazines? I've seen posts that suggest contacting the designer, but how do you find the designer's contact information?

Also, how long do you have to check for corrections? I mean, if a book or magazine is older, will the corrections still be available?

I value my knitting time and want to be as productive as possible, so I would like to hear what you do.

Jan in CA
08-17-2007, 11:17 AM
Sometimes the book writer will have a website that you can check. Most magazines have websites with that info, too.

What pattern and book are you referring to?

astonh
08-17-2007, 11:21 AM
I actually have a question to add to the initial one... As a new knitter how do I know that there IS an error in a pattern?

Mulderknitter
08-17-2007, 11:22 AM
me too!!!! I have no idea how to tell if there is an error. I always assume that it's me when it gets all wonky.:shrug:

Jan in CA
08-17-2007, 11:28 AM
I actually have a question to add to the initial one... As a new knitter how do I know that there IS an error in a pattern?

me too!!!! I have no idea how to tell if there is an error. I always assume that it's me when it gets all wonky.

Sadly, I think most people only find them when they are doing the knitting and it's not coming out right. Unless you can read the pattern line by line and visualize it it's pretty hard to do beforehand. And of course sometimes we think there has got to be an error in the pattern and it is just us.. :shifty:

:teehee:

cookworm
08-17-2007, 11:38 AM
me too!!!! I have no idea how to tell if there is an error. I always assume that it's me when it gets all wonky.:shrug: