PDA

View Full Version : What Constitutes Lace?

astonh
08-20-2007, 04:05 PM
I've been looking at some patterns and can't figure out what actually constitutes something being a "lace" pattern or not. I mean, sure, there are some that there is NO DOUBT that it is a lace, but there are some simpler ones that I see labeled as lace but they aren't NEAR the detail tiny tiny tiny stuff that I see often on here.

Can anyone help me on figuring this out? Is it merely anything knitted with some pattern using lace yarn or something else?

Thanks gang!

BillSpace
08-20-2007, 04:16 PM
I'll give it a shot, although I'm not an expert:

Lace is a fabric knit with a combination of yarnovers and balancing decreases to make a holed, patterned fabric. Technically, there's a distinction between "lace knitting" and "knitted lace"; in one, the patterning takes place in every row, while the other is plain on the wrong side.

Sometimes the lace will be confined to a small area of detail on the fabric -- the entire fabric doesn't have to be holey for it to be lace.

Size of yarn, size of needles -- these don't have an effect on whether it's lace. It's the holes and patterning formed by the yarnovers and decreases that make it a lace. (Some people will knit with outsize needles and call the resulting pattern lace, but it really isn't.)

Sharly
08-20-2007, 04:32 PM
Wow! I think I might be knitting lace! Does anyone know the the Cat's Paw Scarf is considered lace? I hope so ;)

astonh
08-20-2007, 05:25 PM
Looks like it to me AND they refer to it as such. IMO, as inexperienced as it is, you are in fact, knitting lace. :woohoo:

talche
08-20-2007, 06:28 PM
Lace is basically any fabric with deliberately created holes to form some kind of pattern.

Quiltlady
08-20-2007, 06:38 PM
talche, by your definition I can say I've knit a few lace things too!!:cheering:

kbagel
08-20-2007, 07:16 PM
Finally, a question I actually know the answer to!