PDA

View Full Version : Regia Yarn for 1st time sock knitter???

LoriSax
08-22-2007, 08:48 PM
A friend recommended this yarn to me. I am following Silver's Tutorial(THANK YOU!!), and I am having more problems with this thin yarn. For my first pair of socks, do you think I should try something different?? TIA!!
Lori

cinnamon_girl
08-22-2007, 09:24 PM
What kind of problems are you having? I'm no expert and not familiar with that yarn. I am only on my second pair but I used SIlver's tutorial and size 1 dpn's with Tufutsies yarn for my first pair.
I had to reknit heel flap and gusset a couple of times on that first sock before I got it but I also got a lot's of help and encouragement from the super sock knitters over at the Any Sock KAL.

Why don't you come join us. I'm sure someone would be able to talk you through it.

I'm getting addicted to socks!! It's so satisfying and sock yarn is irresistable. :woot:

vaknitter
08-22-2007, 09:49 PM
I had the same problem for my first pair of socks and actually went with a little bulkier pattern and made a pair of socks for my hubby's size 12's using size 5 needles. I needed to be able to see and count the stitches easier.

iza
08-22-2007, 09:57 PM
I used Regia too for my first pair of socks and yes it was a bit painful at the beginning :teehee: I wasn't very good with dpns at the time either so it made the whole experience a bit frustrating!

It went better though with practice and the second sock was done in no time! But there's no shame changing to bulkier yarn if you think it would be easier. Good luck! :waving:

LoriSax
08-22-2007, 10:37 PM
Thanks for your help. I am using 3 DPN. My biggest problem is the yarn is so thin. If I have to take a stitch out, it is nearly impossible, and hard to see the stitches. I am going to WalMart tommorrow, I will see what yarn they have.
Lori

knebel22
08-22-2007, 11:54 PM
I used the regia and size 2 dpn for my first pair of socks three months ago. I just took my time and had no problems.