PDA

View Full Version : New to knitting...need book rec

Sri Radha
09-02-2007, 07:14 PM
Hi. I am new to knitting and just took my first class. We learned to cast on, knit, purl and add a stitch.

We have a pattern for a scarf. Mine is not looking like hers! Anyway, some how I get messed up after I add a stitch and I don't know why. The way she showed us is different than the way shown on the videos here.

I was wondering what is a good instructional book for beginners? Are there ways to correct mistakes? I have a hole in my scarf :pout: I am trying not to get too upset over it because it is my first project but UGH!

I am determined not to give up!!! I think that is the reason I don't know how to do a lot of things. I am very impatient with myself.

Thanks in advance! I hope to hear from some of you!

elliebelly
09-02-2007, 07:31 PM
go to your library and look around at a lot of things, then get what you like best. i really like knitfix and the vogue book.

but i like the videos here better.

anything by elizabeth zimmerman is a great library addition to.

welcome to the world of knitting :) don't stress -- just enjoy yourself. the more you do it, the more the patterns in the knitting will emerge for you and you'll see the mistakes and how to fix them. just remember to breath and enjoy yourself!

ecb
09-02-2007, 07:44 PM
I would reccomend one of two books, Both should be in your Lybrary
Simply Fabulous Knits - Simple basic instructions on LOTS of things, written clearly if you now the terms

OR

Marrans Illustrated Knitting and Crochetting - It has a Whole page explaining each thing (for the most part) with good pictures

Just my two favs to recomend to Newbies to this WONDERFULL addiction

back to making my Bed and cleaning my room
and need to check on the 9to who is walking the Dog / puppy.

ecb

Hi. I am new to knitting and just took my first class. We learned to cast on, knit, purl and add a stitch.