PDA

View Full Version : I'd like some opinions - LYS experience

chrislt8
09-19-2007, 08:30 PM
Since I'm still fairly new to the knitting community I thought I'd ask you all for your opinions on a recent experience I had a my LYS. I have been in this shop several times, always buying yarn and sometimes asking for help. The staff and owner have always been wonderful, friendly, and exceptionally helpful. I took two classes there this week and the classes were as good as I had hoped, I learned a lot and had fun.

BUT, at the beginning of the first class one of the other students had not brought the right sized needle so I offered to loan her one as I had my KP set with me (my new Harmony - I haven't even used it yet!). Of course, that elicited comments from all the knitters about the needles, and one of the other students had never seen the Options/Harmony set and was very interested. I started talking about it and the teacher quickly hushed me and with hand signals and head shakes made it clear we should not be talking about them. I know the teacher meant well and was trying to prevent an awkward situation, but of course this made me feel a bit uncomfortable. Shortly after this the owner left for the evening and the teacher explained that the owner didn't like it when customers talked about a product in her shop that she could not sell.