PDA

View Full Version : new to knit with personal ?

spryng
10-09-2007, 04:00 PM
ok, just picked up a knitting kit.. I'm already a pretty accomplished crocheter but never have knitted, but I am ready for something new :) and this site has been wonderful for learning hands on since I was self taught through books and patterns with crochet..
but my question is, I hear knitting is easier than crochet.. is this true? for those of you that do both, which do you prefer?
and any tips/advise for a beginner knitter? thanks!!!

Jan in CA
10-09-2007, 04:11 PM
I'm sure you'll get varied opinions on this one because it can vary from one person to the next. Knitting is basically just two stitches (knit and purl) so in that respect it can be easier. However you're working with two needles. Crochet is just one hook, but you have a lot more stitches to memorize.

It really just takes practice and patience to learn to knit. There are lots of videos here on KH at the tabs at the top of the page. Plus if you like to have a print out there is good help at these two sites. I printed out instructions (including photos) to have next to me when I first started.
http://www.knitpicks.com/content/index.php/cat/how-to-knit/
http://learntoknit.lionbrand.com/

And before you ask... holding the yarn in your left hand or right hand is personal preference. It tends to be one of those topics where the continental knitters (yarn in left hand like crochet) think their way is best and faster, but really, just do what works best for YOU. I crocheted for years, but prefer to knit with the yarn in my right hand (english knitting). ;)

Knitting_Guy
10-09-2007, 04:14 PM
Welcome!

I've never crochet so can't really answer your question, but if I can knit anyone can :rofl:

vaknitter
10-09-2007, 04:16 PM
I feel like knitting is easier than crocheting, but my mother is just the opposite - she can crochet in her sleep.