PDA

View Full Version : Noro... to alternate balls or not

slouca
10-12-2007, 11:03 PM
I'm making a simple, 3/4 length jacket with a hood for myself. I finally splurged and bought myself the Noro I've been eyeing for a while. So, because the Noro is varigated, I was told to use two balls at a time....knit 2 rows with one ball, then switch, etc.. The problem is it's beginning to look slightly striped. Does anyone have experience with Noro in this way? would you recommend that I just knit one ball at a time? I'm not a big fan of the horizontal striping :)
Thanks!
Sirka

newbieknit
10-13-2007, 01:21 AM
You are so lucky to be knitting yourself a little jacket with a hood out of Noro. :woohoo:I have no personal experience knitting with Noro, but I have heard the same advice. Knit a few rows with ball 1, and then switch to ball 2. If you aren't liking the way it's turning out, I'd just try knitting with the one ball and not switching back and forth. I wouldn't be able to switch yarn back and forth every 2 rows...it would drive me bonkers!:waah::hair:
I hope that someone with personal experience will chime in soon so we can get the official story.

Kats

redwitch
10-13-2007, 03:59 AM
If it is striping that is because the wools are different. So what will happen if you knit a whole ball and then go straight to the next one? The next ball will be even more obvious if you do only one ball at a time... probably.

I would knit say 2 inches in one ball and then switch to another. If you are happy with that, great, but if you don't like the effect, you will know to go with either switching every couple of rows, or coming up with a new idea.

P.S. are the balls at the same place in the colour repeats? Or are you using one ball in its red patch with another that has reached a blue patch?

zkimom
10-13-2007, 07:06 AM
What kind of Noro are you using?