PDA

View Full Version : Suggestions for general book on reading patterns?

cheez
10-14-2007, 12:28 AM
Hello,
I am a beginner at knitting, and have had a lot of trouble reading various patterns. I searched the Internet and also this forum for suggestions and directions on reading patterns, but couldn't find anything that seemed to cover this topic!

I just want a book that will include information about reading patterns. Not just definitions for the abbreviations, but stuff that would, for example, explain what "cont in established patt" means. Does it mean to repeat the rows I just knitted? Or do I proceed up the rows on the pattern chart even though row 1 was the only row on the pattern chart that was referenced in the above lines? And what about "at the same time"? How can something happen at the SAME TIME as something else?!?

Help stop me from going crazy...any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Jane

suzeeq
10-14-2007, 12:58 AM
Don't know of any books, but you can always come here and ask.

I'll go first...
`Cont in established pattern' means you work the next however many rows/sts in the pattern you've been doing, whether it's ribbing, stockinette, or a chart.

`At the same time' is usually done when you're doing neck shaping on a sweater. You may be doing decs for the armhole on the same rows you also do decs at the neck edge. One edge is the beginning of the row, the other edge at the end of the row. So yes, you can absolutely do both at the same time.

I'll give you a bonus that stumps a lot of people....
`Work even' shows up after you've done some increasing or decreasing. It means to knit in whatever pattern you're doing without any incs/decs - keep the stitch number the same (even) amount.

Debkcs
10-14-2007, 03:14 AM
I'm not cheez, but I'll thank you also. I do understand her frustrations, as t's taken me a bit to learn all this stuff. The great thing is that the folks here at KH are so kind, and so quick to answer.

gamerchik