PDA

View Full Version : using ribbon


s1m2h3e4
10-20-2007, 03:00 PM
does anyone know of a site on using ribbon as a border, around a afghan? seen part of a program on tv about it
but don't know where to look


thanks

laptop_knitter
10-20-2007, 04:39 PM
sort of looped through yarn-overs as decoration, or sewn over as a quilted border?

s1m2h3e4
10-20-2007, 05:29 PM
either way really, i'm working on the mason-dixon blanket
and don't like their border, i want to try ribbon

laptop_knitter
10-20-2007, 07:50 PM
right, for threading it through integrated holes, do a yarn-over every couple of stitches along the bottom, then one on each end ie: knit 3 rows. knit 3, yo, knit yo etc to get the bottom row, then k3, yo, knit to last 3, yo, k3 to create two columns all the way to the end. then thread a ribbon through the holes.

to attach a ribbon to the edges quilting-style, get a wide ribbon, fold it in half and sew it to the edge of your knitting. http://www.purlbee.com/sewing-knitting-tutorial/ seems to have a good tutorial on this.
let me know if that's clear enough, if not I'll give it another go.