PDA

View Full Version : Has anyone worked with fondant?

jjminarcik
10-21-2007, 10:00 PM
I am a very beginning baker and do not know anything about icing/fondant or those type things. I'm still working on the cake construction! :teehee: Anyway, my friend has the confidence that I can make a cake for her sister's bridal shower. I'm willing to give it a try, so I'm going to practice on cupcakes before doing the real thing.

I was hoping for any tips/suggestions to help with this. Or maybe even horror stories so I will realize what a mess I have gotten myself into! :wall:

And if you have experience with fondant, do you know how to make one of those pretty bows?

Thanks KHer's! :muah:

Hildegard_von_Knittin
10-21-2007, 10:20 PM
I've used it a few times. The rolled kind is good for cut outs and stuff like that, but I don't think it tastes as good. If you're making from scratch, use a candy thermometer and cook it EXACTLY to soft ball stage. The cake must be totally cool before you aplly the fondanct, and if you use a thin layer of buttercream frosting on the cake before you apply the fondant, it wills tick better. Fondant dries out really fast, so keep whatever you're not using wrapped in plastic. Finally, make sure the room isn't too warm because the fondant will get soft and be hard to work with.

I'm not an expert by any means, I think I've used it only 3 or 4 times. Each time you do it, it will get easier and better, so practice is a good idea!!!

Check out martha stweart's website; she probablly has directions for bows.

JessicaR
10-21-2007, 10:49 PM
Use powdered sugar when rolling it out and you can use crisco with your finger to smooth out any cracks on the finished product.

HamaLee
10-22-2007, 10:25 AM
I have no advice to add, except maybe to get as addicted as I am to Ace of Cakes. :mrgreen::teehee:

Kaydee
10-22-2007, 10:32 AM
I have no advice to add, except maybe to get as addicted as I am to Ace of Cakes. :mrgreen::teehee: