PDA

View Full Version : About time I figured it out

Knit4Pie
10-26-2007, 11:20 AM
I just had a Homer Simpson "D'oh" moment. I mean really slap my forehead and call myself 10 kinds of idiot. I wondered if anyone else has ever had a problem that seemed impossible, but ended up having the simplest solution??

I've been working on DPNs for a couple of months now...made about 4 pairs of gloves. I was always confused when instructions said to "...join for working in the round" When I watched the video, Amy would just start knitting the first st without doing anything special. I then thought it was just an expression that meant to start knitting.

I always thought it awkward doing the first round, because my 1st and 3rd needles were always separate. I decided today (about 10 rnds into a glove) to figure it out, maybe ask the question. I then had a flash of insight. I was starting to knit from what should have been the 3rd needle! I think I got confused because I use the long-cast on, but probably just had it stuck in my head to do it that way and subconsciously ignored anything that suggested differently.

Jan in CA
10-26-2007, 01:55 PM
I think we've all had a moment where that happened. :thumbsup:

AngMac
10-26-2007, 02:14 PM
Don't worry you aren't the only one to have moments like that. I was taking a class at my LYS and the owner had a Doh! moment right in the middle of the workshop and all 8 of us had to rip out the entire project we were working on. It happens to be best of us.

Knit4Pie
10-26-2007, 02:31 PM
I'd been trying to figure it out since I started. It would just never click together, then for some reason it did. I told myself "Of course that's how to do it!" and now I don't see how I didn't get it before. It was just too funny to me not to share!

cindycactus
10-26-2007, 03:17 PM
Good for you! I love those "Of Course" moments.:yay: :cheering: :woohoo:

Marj
10-26-2007, 07:49 PM