PDA

View Full Version : Just A Tip

jdee
10-30-2007, 06:20 PM
Some of you, who have been knitting longer than I have, may already know this, but I found that plastic hair roller picks work great for pinning knitted pieces together for seaming. Just a little tip I recently learned.

I also read a thread where someone wrote about using a pill bottle to make a center pull ball of yarn. I found that to be quite interesting.

Does anyone have more tips to add?

bethany
10-30-2007, 08:56 PM
Thank you! Tips are good to learn for sure...I don't know any because I'm pretty new to knitting too.

BinkyKat
10-30-2007, 09:40 PM
I've also read the spring loaded clippies are good for holding pieces together. They sell a knit clip but the hair ones work great and you can get several for a lot less $ :thumbsup:

Knitting_Guy
10-30-2007, 11:50 PM
Hair roller clips??????????????????????????

I have no clue.

Ironlung21
10-31-2007, 02:39 AM
I'm equally clueless about what on earth hair roller clips might be. Do you have any pictures? My mum had some rollers in the 70's - cant imagine putting them near my knitting. I must have the wrong end of the stick here...

Debkcs
10-31-2007, 06:02 AM
I'm 56, haven't worn a roller in my hair since I was nine, didn't know they were still in use.

Thanks for the tip, though.

knitncook
10-31-2007, 10:57 AM
I actually have used my plastic recorder (music recorder) to make a center pull ball before. Worked pretty good and was easy to slide off (thanks to the tapering). Just make sure you take the bell off first.

cindycactus
10-31-2007, 11:08 AM
I use my long quilting pins to hold the pieces together. Works for me.:happydance:

debinoz
10-31-2007, 12:23 PM
Do you mean these?? My gma had tons of them.

jdee
10-31-2007, 01:27 PM
Do you mean these?? My gma had tons of them.
Yes, those are it. I have some white ones I got from the beauty supply, but they're the same thing.