PDA

View Full Version : Short-term knitting goals?

boo1
11-02-2007, 06:28 AM
Mine:
1) Learn to knit and purl backward (I am the Queen of Errors)
2) Learn to do cables
3) Eliminate knitted UFOs!
4) Stop buying yarn until I use more of what I have :roflhard:

mare-nitt
11-02-2007, 06:42 AM
All I can say boo1, is if you can accomplish #3 and #4, my hat is off to you.
I always find something I want to start, and buying yarn that has a calming effect, so it is good for you. cloud9

rosie9714
11-02-2007, 07:05 AM
Because I am a beginner, I think my knitting goals are too many to name! I am currently working on hats for Christmas gifts, and scarves for Christmas gifts and want to make cell phone holders for my nieces for Christmas gifts, so I guess getting all my gifts made would be a goal.

I would also like to better understand gauges. If the yarn doesn't have that little number printed right on it, I generally put it back.

MrsDavis3
11-02-2007, 09:52 AM
When does a WIP among many become a UFO?

knitgal
11-02-2007, 10:04 AM
1. Finish my sock
2. Finish my SECOND sock
3. Get over my irrational fear of DPNs
4. Use the beautiful $30 sock wool I bought as motivation to finish my first pair...to make socks.
5. Learn how to do any or all of the following: intarsia, fair isle, entrelac
6. Knit a sweater

Songbirdy
11-02-2007, 10:07 AM
When you stop working on it...

A WIP is a UFO when there is an emotional attachment to the project.

When the "oh, goody, I've got time to knit... but not that... " and then you every so slightly guiltily give the project a nudge to the bottom of the pile...

And every time you see the project you give a little "sorry I've abandoned you" smile and pick up something else instead...

:teehee: :teehee: :teehee: That... or you just plain forget about it!

The.Knitter
11-02-2007, 10:08 AM