PDA

View Full Version : Help! all thumbs with dpns and sox

luvknitting2
11-05-2007, 11:52 AM
i'm probably a solid intermediate knitter (been knitting for 40 years), but never before made sox or used dpns. i tried this weekend and ended up throwing the needles back on the table and switching to another project - out of frustration.:roflhard: i can do very intricate cables and laces etc, but these needles really punched me in the gut.........i got knocked down by them. lol

dpns are the ONLY thing i've never tried - and i've never been intimidated by any pattern before. i've always just stuck it out and worked on conquering a new technique. and i've always enjoyed the challenge - but NOT this time.:rofl:

am i the only one who has this problem? i don't know how to hold the dpns - they are very awkward. and using sock yarn - which i've never used before either - i gave it a good 12-15 rows of practicing and got maybe 1/2" knitted. talk about not enough to see your results - lol.

anyway, the jist of my question is - has anyone else had problems with the dpns technique and feeling clumsy??? and if so, does it just take practice????patience?? OR :woot: should i learn that Magic Loop technique instead? i've read some threads where people either hate or love that technique as well.

please help - i really want to learn how to make sox - but...........advice, lessons, or something needed badly.......:p and btw - where can i get some in-person lessons anyway????

thx in advance - can't wait to hear what you all have to say.

Marlynrt
11-05-2007, 11:58 AM
I have tried to knit with dpn's and like you just can't get it done. I love knitting on 2 cirs so I gave up on the douplbe points.
Marlyn:mrgreen:

MAmaDawn
11-05-2007, 12:02 PM
Craft stores have knitting lessons... not sure what level they have or if the do double points or not...

it might helps if you do a hat first... or something else with bigger needles...