PDA

View Full Version : Adusting sizes

becca081905
11-08-2007, 11:59 AM
I have the book Big Girl Knit. I must have jump right to the pattern and totally over look the being of the book. Where it helps you fit a pattern to your body type. I think it is all the information I need. We'll see soon I hope. If anyone has any other resources or trick or tips please let me know. Thanks so much to the one who have given there suggestions.
:rofl:
Help anyone! I am a big girl who wants to knit a sweater but I am not sure how to adjust the pattern to my sexy size.
I'm new to knitting and don't know everything. Heck, I am scared to death to knit a sock or a cable. They look totally beyond what I could do.
Anyway, I do want to try and knit a sweater but I don't want to be disappointed in the end. So any help would be greatly appreciate.

astonh
11-08-2007, 12:05 PM
There are several sweater patterns that include "sexy sizes". To my knowledge, it has only been somewhat recently that designers are including these larger sizes on their patterns but I'd be happy to go through my bookmarks and find some of the links for you, if interested.

If, however, you have already selected a pattern and need to resize that one... boy, I am currently having the same issue but the other direction. Found a sweater I want to knit for my son but it is way too big. I wish I could advise you on how to do this. I know there are many posts on the "math" to make this happen, but, well... I SUCK at math.

Best wishes to you.. Oh, and don't feel alone. Cables and socks are "beyond" me at this time as well... although I'm getting itchy to attempt socks....a SMALL pair for one of my kids. LOL.

debb
11-08-2007, 12:30 PM
check out the book 'big girl knits' - there's lots of info & patterns in there. and as astonh said, there are quite a few patterns out there. knitty.com usually has a good range of sizes on their offerings.