PDA

View Full Version : Pattern help: Gloves

JaneDivided
11-10-2007, 10:31 AM
Hi everyone,

I'm hoping someone can help to clarify a pattern for me. I'm an advanced beginner, and while most times reading a pattern I can see what I need to do once I get to that step, this one is perplexing. Here is the part where I'm having trouble.

The pattern can be found here: http://www.freevintageknitting.com/mittens/617-gloves-pattern.html

I've worked rounds 1-6 the first time through, and things are great. However, the pattern calls for me to repeat the pattern (I presume I start back at round one). If I do start back at round one, would I skip the increases on the first round and only do the increases in the third round? It would seem that if I were to do the increases in the first round then I would not be able to have 66 stitches when I'm done. Further, if I were to only increase in the third round, would my first round simply be the same as Round 2?

Thank you so much for any help that you can offer. I was trying to do this yesterday while waiting for my boyfriend's sister to get out of surgery, and perhaps based on my frame of mind I wasn't really looking at things clearly. But I have a long day at the hospital ahead of me again and it would be great to have this as a distraction.

Kelly

Ingrid
11-10-2007, 11:02 AM
Once you do the initial increases, the you should only increase for the thumb on the third row.

Continue pat. repeating cable twist every 6th round, increasing 1 st each side of thumb gore every 3rd round 5 times more, having 2 sts more between incs. after each successive inc. round; 30 sts on 2nd needle; 66 sts in round. Work 1 round

JaneDivided
11-10-2007, 11:06 AM
Once you do the initial increases, the you should only increase for the thumb on the third row.