PDA

View Full Version : What should a fairly comprehensive needle collection include?

boo1
11-12-2007, 07:25 PM
I'm new to all of this and I know I need to buy more needles.

Just wondering what everyone considers a good collection (not brand, just sizes and types) of needles. I want to be able to sit down with any pattern (that I can decipher, that is!) and not have to run to the LYS to pick up yet another needle.

Thanks! :knitting:

Sknitter56
11-12-2007, 07:36 PM
That's a hard question to answer. I've collected just about every needle size there is over the years just from, like you say, having to buy the correct needle for a certain project. And, I've gone on E-bay and bought lots of vintage needles at a pretty reasonable price just because....no reason, just wanted some old needles. Your best bet would be to make a one-time investment in the Knit Picks Options, which has just about every needle size you'll ever need. But, unfortunately, I'm one of those knitters that has several projects going at once and ususally have to have several sets of the same size needle. Over time, you'll add to your needle stash and you'll still want more. Trust me....you will. It's a knitter thing.

Ironlung21
11-12-2007, 07:45 PM
My advice - dont panic and only buy what you need to.
I keep a list of the needles I own in the back of my purse... you never know when you might find your self in front of a pattern / wool / yarn that you have to have - and have to start work on immediately. Without this essential list you will find yourself buying the same size over and over again. Mind you I have inherited my Mum's and my Grandma's collection - and they had many duplicate needles of the same size. Maybe its genetic and everyone else can remember what they own.

Am a big fan of Addi circular needles - haven't used a conventional pair of needles for some time now.

cftwo
11-12-2007, 08:03 PM