PDA

View Full Version : FO - my first 'Log Cabin' attempt

knitqueen
11-13-2007, 05:47 PM
I got the book "Mason Dixon Knitting" from the library after seeing Jan's log cabin square. The book is fantastic, and the method of knitting log cabin designs is so interesting and fun. This is my first attempt.

dreamsherl
11-13-2007, 05:55 PM
Looks nice!

rissa
11-13-2007, 05:56 PM
Its beautiful! :inlove: I love the colors! I too was inspired by Jan's log cabin square. I made one too, posted it on the squares of many colors thread on the charity board. I think I'll post mine here too. I am quite impressed with yours!

dustinac
11-13-2007, 05:58 PM
I love the colors...very pretty :yay:

mdog182
11-13-2007, 05:59 PM
cute!!! that would make a nice washcloth/pot holder

twowackykids
11-13-2007, 10:23 PM
That's really neat. I've been looking for something like that to use as a door mat. I just may have to check out the book!

knitqueen
11-13-2007, 10:31 PM
Thanks everyone! Twowackykids...the book has some great patterns for rugs and floor mats. I kinda want to make the bathmat that's in there. SO neat.

Jan in CA
11-14-2007, 01:32 AM
That's awesome! Are you making a rug or is it for something else? I copied a few patterns before I took it back to the library, but I think I'm going to get that one. :thumbsup:

knitqueen
11-14-2007, 02:08 AM
I'm sending it to Sandy for her charity blanket projects. I had thought of continuing on and making a throw or something like that because I do have oodles of this stash yarn, but I'm not too sure about all of those woven in end tails on the back - then I considered doing a fabric backing on the throw so the ends wouldn't show - then I decided that was too much work right now, especially considering I have other WIP's that need my attention - so I gave up on that idea and when realizing that it was 12"x12", I bound off and know that Sandy will make better use of it than I would at this point!