PDA

View Full Version : about to give up

pregodego2
11-16-2007, 03:41 PM
i have been practicing every day for a week and no matter what im doing - casting on, knitting or purling - my rows come out uneven and twisted. as im knitting the rows, they just twist all around and i can't seem to get control of any of it, some stitches are too tight, some too loose..it just always looks a mess. i can't even get an easy begining project passed the 2nd row cause it looks horrible and but the time the second row is done, it isn't even workable anymore and i have to undo the whole thing. im tired, my head hurts and im just feeling really defeated already.

Ginnyb
11-16-2007, 03:48 PM
Awwwwww, I'm sorry. I haven't been knitting long myself. Is there anyone you know who knits who can sit with you? It is hard to tell what you may be doing wrong, and I am by no means an expert, but there are a lot of experts on here who may be able to help you. Don't give up, please!!! Have you watched any of the videos available on this site? They are extremely helpful..

Ginny

Plantgoddess+
11-16-2007, 03:53 PM
I hope you can take heart in the fact that we have all been there at the beginning and that if you stick with it there will be a lightbulb moment where it seems to click for you.
I started with a basic Red Heart acrylic yarn. (dirt cheap) and probably about size 8 needles and just cast on and knit and knit and knit. Rip out and start again until I didn't feel like setting the yarn on fire and storming out of the house and screaming.
Hang in there we're all rooting for you.

Becky Morgan
11-16-2007, 04:14 PM
I don't know any knitters who were perfect from the start. Work looks rough, has funky edges, uneven tension and the whole nine yards (okay, more like 90 yards.) It just happens, and it evens out with time and practice. Oh...and laundry. Running stuff through the laundry shakes out a whole, whole lot of uneven tension and so forth.