PDA

View Full Version : I am a poor knitter

Aliquis
11-20-2007, 02:28 AM
I'm pretty down on myself these days due to knitting. I want to know more and unfortunately my LYS has class when I cannot attend. I'm a manager in a business with a ton of stress. Knitting knocks me out of it.
I can't knit a sweater. I can't knit socks. I can't knit...anything but scarves. I log long to do Faire Isle. I want to know every Aran pattern there is.
How do I get better without classes or friends? I'm the only knitter in the bunch! I love it - if you could recommend something - please tell me!

Debkcs
11-20-2007, 03:34 AM
Have you looked in "The Knitters Near You" section to see if there is anyone near you? You don't say where you are located, but if you find someone, anyone on the board, you can contact them via PM, this is a friendly group.:grphug:

Also, your LYS might have groups not posted that you could join if you ask, or the Y in your area.

redwitch
11-20-2007, 03:56 AM
I do lace, colourwork, there is nothing that I think I couldn't knit if I wanted to, and I learned it all from information on the Internet, there are lots of tutorials with photos etc. which tell you everything you need to know!
My first stranded colourwork pattern was Eunny's Endpaper Mitts, adorable and fast and great, free pattern on her blog, with a post called Tips and Tricks giving tips for beginners to colourwork, I would recommend it to anyone wanting to learn (although it is easier if you can knit with left and right hands). Either way you will pick it up very fast!

starburst
11-20-2007, 05:24 AM
try the videos on here. That's where I learned a lot of what I know. It just takes a lot of practice.

rachejm
11-20-2007, 07:10 AM