PDA

View Full Version : I want to start designing but...

LalaBee
11-20-2007, 01:24 PM
Not sure where to begin! Are there any books I should be looking at?

lelvsdgs
11-20-2007, 03:21 PM
I have the same question! I've been knitting for almost 40 years and have never tried to design anything... I've been itching to try but don't know where to start. Excellent question!:cheering:

fibrenut
11-20-2007, 04:45 PM
:knitting: lala, howdy,
If you would like to start designing just take copious notes about everything, from casting on to color changes, shaping, needle size, yarn weight (or the specific yarn you used) etc. You can edit and rewrite whatever you've done (so it'll make sense the next time you read it or have someone else read it). Refer to patterns you already have for how many to cast on basic shaping, abbreviations, etc. Mix and match stitch patterns. If you've knitted for a while you know the basics you need to design your own stuff. Afterall a sock needs a toe and a heel with some stuff inbetween and a leg or cuff of some sort. Cardigans need two fronts, two sleeves..... etc. etc.
You aren't gonna be reinventing the wheel here but putting your own spin on special garments for your loved ones or to show off and share with the rest of us.
It's totally fun and rewarding to say to someone, " I designed that myself, and it's one of a kind!!" It's also way kewl when you see pics of people making or wearing YOUR creation.
So have fun with it. I'm always tweaking patterns to better suit me. I can't remember the last time I actually made something exactly as the pattern showed. But that's just me and I like a challenge..... :wink: :cool: One other thing I find helpful is to sketch out what I think the finished product should look like. And then after you've knitted all the pieces make a rough sketch of each piece, so that whomever you are sharing your joy with will be able to see what it's sposed to look like after they've followed your directions.