PDA

View Full Version : Would you rather........

boo1
11-21-2007, 03:11 PM
put 200 st on a 10 inch straight or use a 14 inch and have a little breathing room?

Just watching Knitty Gritty and she started with 200 on 10 inch needles. I guess being a newbie, I worry too much about them sliding off.

knitncook
11-21-2007, 03:15 PM
I most always knit with circs or DPN's so I probably would just use a circ. Most needle ends will keep stitches from slipping off the end though.

boo1
11-21-2007, 03:16 PM
I most always knit with circs or DPN's so I probably would just use a circ.

That was not one of your options!!! :teehee:

fibrenut
11-21-2007, 03:17 PM
Aww heck, boo.
I don't even use straights anymore (cept to "pin" seams for sewing). I use circs. Easier on the hands for one and don't have to worry bout losing a needle n having to go buy a new set just for the one. Also another good thing is that when you lay your knitting down you don't have to worry bout it slipping off.
But if all you have are straights then by all means use the longer needles. :X: :thumbsup:

boo1
11-21-2007, 03:43 PM

But if all you have are straights then by all means use the longer needles. :X: :thumbsup:

Nope, got both, just taking an informal poll. :mrgreen:

Knitting_Guy
11-21-2007, 03:52 PM
They make straight knitting needles? :??

Sunny_Singer
11-21-2007, 03:59 PM
I have knit with 200+ sts on a 14 inch straight, but unless you have very thin yarn, I wouldn't try it on a 10 inch.

fibrenut
11-21-2007, 04:05 PM
Yeah KG, they are great for holding sides together or sleeves when you are tryin to seam em up!!!!. Or for scratchin yer back!! Another good use is to get the hairball our of the vacuum cleaner hose ROFL!!!!

The.Knitter
11-21-2007, 04:08 PM