PDA

View Full Version : Not celebrating Thanksgiving?

feministmama
11-22-2007, 02:04 PM
Anyone?

fibrenut
11-22-2007, 02:05 PM
:waah:
I got sick with the flu n won't be goin to my sis's house today:passedout:

suzeeq
11-22-2007, 02:09 PM
Not exactly. There's just the two of us - our families are hundreds of miles away in two opposite directions and we only have the one day off. We were going to cook up some steak we have in the freeze, but since I just had a birthday and he owes me a nice dinner, we may go out instead.

He is watching the Lions/packers game and making an apple pie, so I guess that counts....

iza
11-22-2007, 02:26 PM
I don't really celebrate the Canadian's Thanksgiving, and American Thanksgiving is really just a normal work day for me. But I'm cheating right now and am watching a dog show on an American channel... don't tell anyone! :shifty: :teehee:

alleusion
11-22-2007, 03:24 PM
This is my first year away from my family for the holidays. Canadian Thanksgiving just seemed like just another day. It even felt like Canadians didn't really celebrate it either...just my first timer observation. Anyway, I was feeling sorry for myself, thinking I was going to be feeding my children spaghetti for dinner, so I got up, trudged through my first snowfall ever (yes, ever), and got a small turkey breast and a few side dishes along with an apple pie.

So, while I'm not celebrating in the traditional sense, my children, my husband, and I will be having turkey tonight.

auburnchick
11-22-2007, 04:12 PM
We are across country right now. It's the first year we won't be having a traditional Thanksgiving dinner. I'm headed to the grocery store to see what I can find for my ds and me. The hotel is having a Thanksgiving buffet, but I do not feel like paying $25/person.

Hope that those of you who are sick feel better soon.

:hug:

knitgal
11-22-2007, 04:15 PM