PDA

View Full Version : My First Afghan

surebobll
11-28-2007, 03:37 AM
Hello My Name is Lesly,

I have been knitting for about three months now, and all my projects have been medium in size. But now i feel i want to move on to bigger and better things, i want to make an afghan, but the problem i have comes down to what needles should i use. The instructions call for a 8 size needle, which is fine i understand that but, my entire knitting life has been around circular needles. Do they sell circular needles large enough to do an afghan? I have also worked with double pointed needles when i made my hat, but im scared of losing my stiches, what kind of needles are appropriate? Am I suppose to use multiple needles? please help! :mrgreen: In case your wondering the afghan i want to make, here is the link http://www.mycraftbook.com/craftidea.asp?craftID=7

Thank you for listening, and i am awaiting anyones response. :aww:

Shandeh
11-28-2007, 04:12 AM
That particular pattern is for making an afghan out of strips of knitting. You would not be making the entire afghan all at once. You would knit strips about as wide as a scarf, and then seam them all together.

There are other patterns that are knit with long circular needles, but it is difficult sometimes to knit with so much weight pulling on your needles. It is possible, though.

There are plenty of very long circular needles available. The cables can be up to 60 inches long. You just have to look at different brands. You can buy them online if you can't find them at your local store.

SabrinaJL
11-28-2007, 04:15 AM
Yep, they come plenty long enough. I knit THIS STUPID AFGHAN (http://sabrinajl.com/cgi/wp/wp-content/uploads/2007/01/blanket1.jpg) in one piece on circs. 300 stitches, with yarn held doubled. I don't recommend it.

jdee
11-28-2007, 04:21 AM