PDA

View Full Version : New Knitter

grumbles
12-01-2007, 02:50 AM
Hi. I want to start knitting.

I checked out some tutorials, instructions, videos, etc. online and found that the continental style seems to be the best way to go. It looks more efficient than the "throwing" method. Should I begin with continental?

What kind of needles should I use as a beginner? Any yarn suggestions?

Are scarves a good start?

Any links or recommendations for places to begin learning?

Sorry for the barrage of questions. Thanks in advance! :D

alleusion
12-01-2007, 03:04 AM
Scarves are a great place to start. As a beginner, I'd use big-ish needles and a worsted or bulky weight yarn. Try US size 10 needles and see how that goes.

http://www.knittingpatterncentral.com/directory.php is a great place to get all kinds of patterns.

beckyrhae
12-01-2007, 03:05 AM
I knit continental, but I started with the english style. I say if you want to start with continental, then go with it. What I do suggest, is once you are comfortable with knitting, learn the other way as well. This will help you later when you want to do faire isle techniques.

I think bamboo needles are the perfect way to start. They have a fair amount of slide without being too slick. Nothing worse than having your stitches slip off your needles before you can knit them.

Yarn. Pick something cheep to start with. Something that can withstand you ripping it out and starting over. Red Heart Super Saver, Caron Simply Soft, Bernat. Take a trip to Michaels or Hobby Lobby and pick something that strikes your fancy. Avoid anything too fluffy, furry, or loopy when you start. You can not see your stitches as easy, and it can make you very frustrated.

Scarves are perfect to start with.

This is the perfect place to start. I suggest watching Amy's videos. I find myself using them all the time.

Good luck!

grumbles
12-01-2007, 03:59 AM
Should I begin with straight, double point, or cable needles?

beckyrhae
12-01-2007, 05:27 AM