PDA

View Full Version : Ripping Out My Cable Sweater, But Where Am I?

JANANN
12-14-2007, 10:59 PM
I am knitting a cable pattern sweater and I've had to rip it out a few times. I have been tracking my work using a index cards in a spiral book. It works great except I guess I got distracted because I have noticed that the cable is messed up...unfortunately it took me quite a few rows to notice. I don't want to rip all of it out again I'd like to just take it out to before the error...but because I'm off the pattern even if I count the rows that I take out I won't end up in the right place in the pattern based on the pages in the book of index cards. Is there any way to tell where I am in the pattern? This is my first time working with cable so this is bound to happen again and I'll never get this sweater done if I keep having to rip it out and start over again and again. Even if I do have to rip it out, if anyone has a suggestion of how to avoid this again...a better way of keeping track I would welcome any suggestions. Thanks!

dreamsherl
12-14-2007, 11:11 PM
When I make mistakes on a cable pattern, I rip back to the row before the cable twist. I after putting the stitches back on the needle, I know that the next row is the one where I twist the cable. I hope that this helps. Good luck.

Ingrid
12-14-2007, 11:56 PM
Ripping out to before the cable twist is a great idea. After that, take a good look at the cables you've done. Find a way that works for you to count how many rows appear between the twists. Compare them to each other.

If you can find a way to 'read' your knitting, then you don't have to be a slave to a row counter.

janettle
12-15-2007, 09:40 AM
Here is a link to Amy's videos on fixing mistakes:
http://www.knittinghelp.com/videos/knitting-tips