PDA

View Full Version : Ott-Lite rant


Duckling326
12-31-2007, 02:40 PM
Anyone else have an issue with their Ott-Lite floor lamp? I already had a floor lamp and we thought there was a bad connection in the wiring. So for Christmas my Husband gave me a gift certificate for a new Ott-Lite.
Well we bring it home and same thing! The light goes off and there is apparently a bad connection from the bulb to the socket.
Here we spend over $200 for a light that flickers on and off.
Anyone else deal with this too??!?

brendajos
12-31-2007, 03:17 PM
My mother has had one for years with no trouble. I don't want to make you feel like I think you are daft with this question, I promise... But have you tried it in another outlet, just to make sure that the outlet isn't going bad?

cftwo
12-31-2007, 03:36 PM
I agree with Brenda - check to make sure it's not the outlet before you get too upset about it. I've used a friend's, and she's had it for years with no problems.

Wanda Witch
12-31-2007, 03:41 PM
I agree with Brenda - check to make sure it's not the outlet before you get too upset about it. I've used a friend's, and she's had it for years with no problems.
Oh, gosh, I hope there is not something wrong with the Ott floor lamps. I just received one and have yet to assemble the base to the stand. I bought it primarily for knitting and reading. I do have two other Ott lights, a clip-on light for my sewing machine cabinet when open, and another one, a table-type, for cutting out fabric. They have worked beautifully and have had both for quite a long time. I'll keep my fingers crossed and I do wish you success in finding out the problem. They are not cheap! Wanda

Duckling326
12-31-2007, 04:05 PM
We have checked the outlets but it really seems like the connectors in the bulb.
I really love these lights I wish it didn't flicker. I'm thinking of calling Ott-lite and seeing if anyone else has complained of this.

Glad to hear that yours are working properly. We do have one of those clamping kinds but no where to attach.

Abbily
12-31-2007, 04:32 PM
If you just got it, it should be under warranty. I would definitely contact the company and have them replace it!