PDA

View Full Version : 3 tr cluster?? Help, please.


EssenceRose
01-02-2008, 01:52 AM
Hi, all. I've been racking my brain over this, trying to figure out how to do this. I've attempted it twice, but I get it wrong somehow. So I was hoping somebody could explain to me (step by step) how to make this stitch.

The pattern says:

ch 3, holding the last loop of each st on hook, 3 tr in same sp, YO, draw through all 3 loops.

The part in red is the part I don't get. How do I hold the last loop of each st on the hook?? Can somebody please talk me through this?

fibrenut
01-02-2008, 02:23 AM
Hiya Rose,
I'm assuming that you are using uk terms and not american.
You are wanting to do a 3 stitch cluster right?
I you would yarn over, insert the hook into the required stitch yarn over pull through the stitch, yarn over again and pull through two loops on your hook, (you'll have one loop plus the loop from the previous stitch left of your first stitch in your cluster) now yarn over again like you're doing a new stitch and insert it where it tells you to, yarn over pull through the stitch, yarn over again and pull through two loops on your hook, (you'll now have 2 loops + the previous stitches loop on your hook left),repeat these last steps for the last stitch and now you have 3 loops + the previous loop from the stitch on your hook, yarn over and pull through all loops and poof, ya got yer cluster. Just follow these steps for any amount of stitches you need in any particular cluster, whether it's two or 5 or more.
Basically, what you are doing is making each stitch to just before the last yarn over and then on the last stitch in the cluster you yarn over and pull through all the loops on the hook.:thumbsup:
There fixed it. Sorry, had to do a hands on (it's been a while since I've crocheted LOL)

cftwo
01-02-2008, 11:59 AM
When you get ready to start your tr crochet, you already have 1 loop on your hook. Go head and start your tr crochet...

Once you get to the point where you have all the loops you need on your hook...

yarn over and pull through 2 loops and repeat this until you have 2 loops (the original one and one from the new tr crochet).

You now are starting with 2 loops on the hook. Go through your usual process for a tr crochet, pulling through 2 loops at a time, until you're at 3 loops left on the hook (original, one from the first tr crochet, and one from the 2nd tr crochet).

Go through the process for your third tr crochet, leaving 4 loops on the hook (original, one from the first, one from the 2nd, and one from the 3rd). Now finish them all off at once, pulling a loop through all 4 loops on the hook. It sort of bundles them up all nicely into a pointed/leaf shape.

aprildavis99
01-02-2008, 05:00 PM
Try this site. Their example is with a dc cluster but it gives you an idea how hold the last loop of each stitch to creat a cluster. Check out the rest of this site. It has great information and cool videos.

http://www.nexstitch.com/v_cluster_stitch.html

EssenceRose
01-03-2008, 06:19 AM
*smacking forehead* I think I'm still a little bit confused. I'm using American terms/stitches -- but now that I think about it, I bought the calender with the patterns here in NZ. It never occured to me that they may be in the NZ/UK terms. *scratches head*

Oh, boy. I'm pretty sure that it's in American terms -- but I'm going to try to find out for sure now. Thanks for pointing that out.

I think I'll print out those directions. It doesn't help that it's after 11 PM here and I should be in bed, so I'm not exactly thinking clearly. LOL

*rubs eyes* Maybe the light of the new day tomorrow will help me figure it out. :thumbsup:

EssenceRose
01-03-2008, 06:26 AM
By George, I get it now!!! *smacks forehead again* How silly of me! I sort of got it when it was explained, but seeing it done on the tutorial just made it click for me.

Thanks, everyone! :cheering::woot::muah:

fibrenut
01-03-2008, 11:57 AM
Rose,
I asked if it were uk or us terms because of the fact that they ask you to "chain 3" at the beginning of the row. In american that would denote a double crochet, not a treble but in the uk it's called a treble,that would denote what us americans call a double (they call it a treble). So that's what I was wondering, and the directions don't say to yarn over twice, just the once. So that's what I was thinking is that it's uk terms.
Sorry if we all gotcha cornfused there hun.

aprildavis99
01-03-2008, 07:29 PM
:woohoo: I'm so glad you got it figured out!!:star:

aztec_judy
01-07-2008, 02:26 AM
annies attic also has some really great videos that explains alot of the crochet stitchs.

http://www.anniesattic.com/ plus they give you a free pattern to practice the stitch with.

I have watched a few of the videos before and they seem really easy to learn with.
Annies also has a free daily pattern.

But I do like the way they have the stitches set up for learning.