PDA

View Full Version : Losing/gaining stitches help

styrch
01-06-2008, 12:54 AM
So, I'm just learning, which some of you know since many kind knitters out there answered my first post about being frustrated. Well, I made some progress for a while and then yesterday I started sort of strangely gaining stitches. Since then, when I practice casting on and beginning I either have been gaining or losing a couple of stitches several rows into my work. I can't seem to keep a consistent number, even when just practicing only the knit stitch. I totally don't know what I'm doing wrong. I suspected it might have something to do with working in the tail but then I've had this problem even well after I've dropped the tail.

Anyway, if anyone has any suggestions I'd really appreciate it. Thanks in advance!

dreamsherl
01-06-2008, 01:17 AM
When I was a beginner, I used stitch markers to help me keep count. I would put them every five or ten stitches. Usually something that I could eyeball quickly. I still count every few rows. I hope that this helps.

styrch
01-06-2008, 01:26 AM
May I ask what you mean by stitch markers?

I think maybe part of my problem is also having difficulties getting into the stitch. I think I may have a tendency to mutilate the yarn so much it starts to... get loose and separate. Since I'm still learning, I'm learning vocabulary too so I'm not sure how to describe this appropriately. I'm sure there's a much better way to do it. :)

Jan in CA
01-06-2008, 01:48 AM
Stitch markers can be anything from a plain ring to something beaded and fancy.
http://www.knitpicks.com/knitting+markers+stitch+holders_AL300509.html

They are a way to not only keep track of the number of stitches, but can be used to mark areas of a pattern. I use them when I'm doing increases or decreases in hats and sweaters to name a few.

Plantgoddess+
01-06-2008, 09:58 AM