PDA

View Full Version : Completly New & Lost:

carambula
03-11-2008, 09:29 PM
I am new to knitting and Crocheting .... today I went to Hobby Lobby to get some supplies to try to learn something but I was confused with all of the sizes and selections.. I have ZERO experience with any of this but would LOVE to learn.. It has been a dream of mine to learn these two crafts and I am hoping I can get some help on :

1. Supplies needed like needles , yarn etc
2. patterns , easy for beginners
3. videos on how to's..

I know this is asking alot but I would sure appreciate it.. thanks so much!:grphug:

Cindy:hug:

Knitting_Guy
03-11-2008, 09:35 PM
I think the easiest way to start is to get yourself some size 10 knitting needles and some worsted weight yarn.

Learn how to cast on. Learn and practice the knit stitch, then learn and practice the purl stitch.

Start out without trying to actually make anything. Just practice your stitches until you're comfortable with them. Then do something simple like a garter stitch scarf. It's a long enough project to allow you to not only practice but to actually see your improvement as it goes along.

Hope that helps a little.

knit2btied
03-11-2008, 09:36 PM
Welcome to knitting and crocheting as well as to KH. Check out the videos on the KH home page http://www.knittinghelp.com/videos/learn-to-knit

So for knitting a good start would be a worsted weight yarn that is fairly smooth and light enough to see the stitches and needles between size 8 -10 seem to be the recommendation. Just start out knitting a swatch and practice getting even stitches. When you feel ready you could knit a simple project of your choice.

Hope that helps!

Knitting_Guy
03-11-2008, 09:36 PM
Oh, and don't worry about trying to make it perfect. Just keep knitting away and that will come on it's own.

sheknits
03-11-2008, 09:44 PM