PDA

View Full Version : Knitting in the news: "Grannies and Pro-War activists clash in times square

LilHuskiesFootBallMom
03-19-2008, 11:41 PM
"grannies" held a knit-in :) (http://news.yahoo.com/s/nm/20080319/us_nm/iraq_usa_grannies_dc;_ylt=Av.5g3Bo8OiXXX58J832lDpH 2ocA)

Mike
03-20-2008, 02:18 AM
I'm kind of disgusted they'd use something like amputees to push their political agenda with "shock and awe".

It would've been better for grannies, knitting and the injured soldiers if they would've quietly made stump socks without an agenda or done something like a flag to push their agenda.

I know if I was someone who lost a limb and was convinced it was in service of my country I wouldn't be accepting anything donation to tell me it was for nothing. That means if I saw that article any knitted item I received would be going in the trash.

Debkcs
03-20-2008, 03:10 AM
Thank you, Mike. I was an Army nurse,Viet Nam era, took care of P.O.W.'s and worked on amputee wards. They had pride in their service then, and they do now.

One of my prized possesions is a photograph from our wedding (DH was an Army nurse also) that shows fourteen guys from the rehab unit, in wheel chairs or with crutches, who attended. It was a very unusual wedding and reception.

Knitting_Guy
03-20-2008, 10:02 AM
I agree with Mike. Turning charity work into a political statement is just wrong.

campbellmom549
03-20-2008, 10:34 AM