View Full Version : Magic loop gap

03-24-2008, 09:52 PM
I'm trying out the magic loop method for the first time, but I'm finding that I end up with long stitches in one side (in between the needles). Doesn't matter how much I pull and tighten the stitches in between needles I end up with a longer stitch.

Am I doing something wrong? Would that even out with blocking? Should I just go back to dpns?


03-24-2008, 10:40 PM
I've noticed that it evens out on it's own as I continue knitting. Sometimes it also helps to knit the first stitch on the new needle through the back loop. ML isn't for everyone, but I prefer it over dpns.

03-24-2008, 11:36 PM
Try tightening the 2nd stitch on the needle. That helped me.

03-24-2008, 11:37 PM
I make the first two or three stitches extra tight at that point which helps a lot.

03-25-2008, 12:30 AM
Or you can shift the first st over a few.... when you get to the end of the sts in that section, continue to knit a couple onto the right hand needle before using your empty needle.

03-25-2008, 01:11 PM
The "gap" will go away once you knit several round but pulling the first 2-3 stitches tight helps too. I always d othe first stitch tight on each side to keep the gap down to a minimum nad don't end up with a "ladder".

03-25-2008, 02:05 PM
Thanks all,

I'll try to tighten some stitches before and after, see how that goes.

I'm just concern with the ones I already have. I've already made 2/3 of a sleeve, and I don't want to have to frog it...

03-26-2008, 05:22 PM
I'm having this same problem using magic loop, but I've never had a problem with laddering when using dpns or regular circular knitting.

I'm trying the 2 at a time socks on one long cir and only one side of the same sock is doing this! I don't understand why 3 of the other sides are fine, except for just this one side. And I'm tightening up those stitches, so I don't understand why it is doing this.

03-28-2008, 01:10 AM
i'm using the 2 circs method to knit a sleeve and i've found that knitting stockinette is fine... no ladders. But when i swtich to ribbing the first knit stitch is way looser than all the others, no matter how much i tug.
I just thought it was strange seeing as it was fine before... something about the purl stitch next to it maybe *shrug*

03-28-2008, 09:34 AM
Going a little OT here -- Curly, you have the cutest avatar! What's the story?

03-28-2008, 11:56 PM
I pull up the second stitch on the part I just finished, then the first, that way I have 3 tight stitches, I have to work the needle into these tight stitches later, but that is what tightens up those loose stitches in the end of ends.
Enjoy your magic looping


03-31-2008, 06:00 PM
I had the same problem when I first tried Magic Loop. In my case, it was the right hand loop that was causing the problem. I couldn't find a way to keep the sides of the loop -- the front and back portions of the cable -- close enough together to work my stitches comfortably. And this was also stretching my stitches at that same point in my work.

My solution: After I pull the back needle around to the front, ready to start the next round, I give the resulting loop a twist. This keeps the cables of the loop from spreading apart so my work isn't stretched out. It also makes it easier for me to hold the loop more like a needle.... kinda! ... so I can knit easier and more comfortably. Of course, I have to remember not to twist too much, but just a half twist, maybe a full twist if it's being stubborn, seems to do the trick!

I'm not sure I'm explaining this very well and I don't have a camera, so I can't show you a picture. You'll just have to take a word for it!