PDA

View Full Version : Magic loop gap


coopersita
03-24-2008, 09:52 PM
I'm trying out the magic loop method for the first time, but I'm finding that I end up with long stitches in one side (in between the needles). Doesn't matter how much I pull and tighten the stitches in between needles I end up with a longer stitch.

Am I doing something wrong? Would that even out with blocking? Should I just go back to dpns?

Thanks

alleusion
03-24-2008, 10:40 PM
I've noticed that it evens out on it's own as I continue knitting. Sometimes it also helps to knit the first stitch on the new needle through the back loop. ML isn't for everyone, but I prefer it over dpns.

auburnchick
03-24-2008, 11:36 PM
Try tightening the 2nd stitch on the needle. That helped me.

Knitting_Guy
03-24-2008, 11:37 PM
I make the first two or three stitches extra tight at that point which helps a lot.

suzeeq
03-25-2008, 12:30 AM
Or you can shift the first st over a few.... when you get to the end of the sts in that section, continue to knit a couple onto the right hand needle before using your empty needle.

KnittinMitchie
03-25-2008, 01:11 PM
The "gap" will go away once you knit several round but pulling the first 2-3 stitches tight helps too. I always d othe first stitch tight on each side to keep the gap down to a minimum nad don't end up with a "ladder".

coopersita
03-25-2008, 02:05 PM
Thanks all,

I'll try to tighten some stitches before and after, see how that goes.

I'm just concern with the ones I already have. I've already made 2/3 of a sleeve, and I don't want to have to frog it...

McKnitty
03-26-2008, 05:22 PM
I'm having this same problem using magic loop, but I've never had a problem with laddering when using dpns or regular circular knitting.

I'm trying the 2 at a time socks on one long cir and only one side of the same sock is doing this! I don't understand why 3 of the other sides are fine, except for just this one side. And I'm tightening up those stitches, so I don't understand why it is doing this.

Curly_Toot
03-28-2008, 01:10 AM
i'm using the 2 circs method to knit a sleeve and i've found that knitting stockinette is fine... no ladders. But when i swtich to ribbing the first knit stitch is way looser than all the others, no matter how much i tug.
I just thought it was strange seeing as it was fine before... something about the purl stitch next to it maybe *shrug*

McKnitty
03-28-2008, 09:34 AM
Going a little OT here -- Curly, you have the cutest avatar! What's the story?

ecb
03-28-2008, 11:56 PM
I pull up the second stitch on the part I just finished, then the first, that way I have 3 tight stitches, I have to work the needle into these tight stitches later, but that is what tightens up those loose stitches in the end of ends.
Enjoy your magic looping

ecb

Spokaloo
03-31-2008, 06:00 PM
I had the same problem when I first tried Magic Loop. In my case, it was the right hand loop that was causing the problem. I couldn't find a way to keep the sides of the loop -- the front and back portions of the cable -- close enough together to work my stitches comfortably. And this was also stretching my stitches at that same point in my work.

My solution: After I pull the back needle around to the front, ready to start the next round, I give the resulting loop a twist. This keeps the cables of the loop from spreading apart so my work isn't stretched out. It also makes it easier for me to hold the loop more like a needle.... kinda! ... so I can knit easier and more comfortably. Of course, I have to remember not to twist too much, but just a half twist, maybe a full twist if it's being stubborn, seems to do the trick!

I'm not sure I'm explaining this very well and I don't have a camera, so I can't show you a picture. You'll just have to take a word for it!