PDA

View Full Version : Favourite Cable Book

Krystal
04-08-2008, 03:43 PM
Ok so my birthday is coming up in a couple weeks (the 20th) and DH wants to know what I want. I fell in love with cabling a few months back, and I am really wanting to get a book full of cables. I have my eye on the Vogue Stitchionary 2 : Cables, but I was wondering your opinions on that book, or if you know of a book you consider to be a better cable resource.

I only yesterday cast on my first project in months, (ironically using the yarn I got LAST birthday... :teehee:) and I think this cardigan could use some beautiful cabling on the sleeves... We shall see.

Thanks!

knitgal
04-08-2008, 04:12 PM
I got Cables Untangled by Melissa Leapman as a gift last year and I love it. It has a wonderful cable dictionary in it as well as gorgeous patterns. One complaint is that it is all in chart form, so I have to translate the patterns (I'm not good with charts).

Krystal
04-08-2008, 04:18 PM
Thanks... I can't stand charts so I guess that's a book I won't be looking at.. :( it's too bad, but I always get confused with charts.

knitgal
04-08-2008, 04:24 PM
Me too- I hate them. The patterns are pretty and there are some awesome cables, but the charts kick my butt everytime. I have to write out the pattern before I start. Oh well, it's a nice book!
The Harmony Guides are really nice. They have an aran version too. Here (http://www.amazon.com/220-Aran-Stitches-Patterns-Harmony/dp/1855856336)it is on the US amazon site.

Mirl56
04-08-2008, 05:08 PM
You should check your library and see if they have copies of Stichtionary and Harmony cable book.

It's been a while since I had them both checked out, but I think the harmony book has more cables listed, I didn't think all the photos were good (some cut off a portion of the design!?!) I think some had chart only, too. I'm pretty sure the Stitchionary has both chart & written for each cable.