PDA

View Full Version : Easy smallish project/pattern?

chellebee
05-19-2008, 05:24 PM
Hello everyone!

I'm fairly new to knitting, having taught myself to knit a la KnittingHelp.com (:muah: thank you so much!) in September 2006. I'm looking for a smallish project/pattern I can carry with me wherever I go ... any and all suggestions (including pattern link and your favorite yarn) will be greatly appreciated!

xo
chellebee

Knitting_Guy
05-19-2008, 06:23 PM
There are a lot of dish cloth patterns you could do, or you could go for a sock.

SBG
05-19-2008, 06:31 PM
This is my favorite dishcloth:
http://homespunliving.blogspot.com/2007/11/waffle-knit-dishcloth-pattern.html

Whenever harder projects are giving me fits I make one. It's easy and really pretty when it's done.

Spikey
05-19-2008, 08:01 PM
I third the dishcloth idea.
Here are some good sites for patterns, besides ravelry:
http://www.jimsyldesign.com/dishbout/kpatterns/knitting.html
http://www.knittingknonsense.com/index2.html
http://dishandwashclothmania.com/knit-cloths/

SteveDallas
05-19-2008, 08:29 PM
In addition to dishcloths and socks, a basic hat might do the trick.

DorothyDot
05-19-2008, 08:32 PM
My favorite? Make yourself and your friends/family... a double-thickness potholder!

Use knitting worsted, synthetic yarn - you can wash and dry those potholders any time.

It's my classes' first project. The first square [make it about 7" by 7"] is knit-stitch, aka garter stitch. The second square, same size, is the purl-stitch, aka reverse garter stitch.

I'd suggest using like size 5 or 6 needles - the tighter knitting reduces stretching somewhat, and increases the insulating-density of your work.