PDA

View Full Version : My first "real" yarn order!

Azlynn
05-23-2008, 03:16 AM
I just got my first shipment (from KnitPicks) of "real" yarn! I'm a new knitter, and up until now, the only yarn I have knitted with is yarn from Walmart. I don't have a local yarn shop here in my small town, and I was overwhelmed with so many different options online. Some very nice person on here pointed me to KP, and I ordered some of their sock yarn, and it just arrived today! I'm a self-taught knitter, and I went from knitting a scarf directly to teaching myself to knit in the round on circulars and DPNs on a hat, and have been addicted since to knitting funky hats. So I decided now I want to learn SOCKS! I got my yarn today, and my first sock is already on the needles. I adjusted the pattern to make a miniature one for my first one for practice, and so far it's turning out so cute! I'll post pictures of it as an FO when I'm finished. I can't wait to get it done. I don't even want to go to bed now! How am I ever going to get any work done? lol

Oh, and back to the yarn......such a HUGE difference between red heart yarn and nice, luscious, soft yarn from KP. I had NO idea!!!!! YUMMMMMMMY! It's not even that much more expensive, really!

Mirl56
05-23-2008, 06:51 AM
KP is great, isn't it? I just cast off socks using Risata. Wore them yesterday and now I can't wait to get them washed so I can wear them again.

I've used several of their other sock yarns, too.

Knitting_Guy
05-23-2008, 08:48 AM
I agree that natural fibers are better in many respects, but don't be too harsh on the acrylics as they have their place too and some of them, like Caron Simply Soft, are pretty nice.

I've felt some pretty crappy natural fiber yarns that you couldn't pay me to knit.

Knitting in the round is fun, isn't? I love circular knitting, it's addicting.

I look forward to seeing your first socks.

Azlynn
05-23-2008, 10:27 AM