PDA

View Full Version : What the heck is this contraption?

Ravennwings
06-18-2008, 02:04 PM
Ok, so as far as extended knitting skills go, I'm still a relative noob. I've not had the money to buy anything other than yarn and needles, for the most part. So when I found an add on Craigslist with somebody getting rid of their entire stash of knitting paraphernalia for $10, naturally I leaped at the opportunity! And the lady was nice--she included a bunch of her crochet hooks as well :inlove:

But also included with her stash was a strange contraption I've not yet seen (knowing i've not the money to buy, i pretty much haven't bothered to look. Temptation too high! :shrug:)

My camera is on the fritz, so I couldn't take a pic, BUT the contraption was simple enough for me to draw a near-perfect rendition of it in MS Paint! So, can anybody tell me what the heck this thing is and how the heck I use it? Thanks! :muah:

khaosx5
06-18-2008, 02:36 PM
it is used for making "hair-pin lace" - I would think that there are instructions somewhere on the internet.
:knitting:

Spokaloo
06-18-2008, 02:37 PM
What you have there is a loom used for hairpin lace which is crocheted. There are videos on YouTube -- just search for hairpin lace and you'll find them.

Hairpin lace got its name because it was originally worked on real hairpins -- the big old fashioned ones that your grandmother or even great grandmother used. The blue pieces are used to hold the poles apart at specific distances so you can make the strips wider or narrower.