PDA

View Full Version : knitting question

luline
06-22-2008, 10:40 PM
I am a beginer knitter. I seem to have a problem having all my stiches to be the same. Some are loose and others are tight.

what can i do to make them more unform?

Plantgoddess+
06-22-2008, 11:00 PM
Practice and time. As you get more comfortable with knitting and get more hours under your belt, you will find that your stitches will even out. Elizabeth Zimmerman has said in her books that washing will repair a lot of problems. Your stitches will even up some after a washing or two.

Ladylou
06-22-2008, 11:02 PM
Hey there luline!

Welcome to KH:heart:

I'm still a beginner knitter (only have a few projects under my belt) but i ran into the same problem. Your tension is probably the culprit... Its kind of hard to say without watching you knit, but what really helped me was wrapped the string that is connected to your skien around your pinkie and between your index and middle fingers. If you watch the video on beginner mistakes and how to fix them it might give you some tips on whatever is going on:hug:

Love,
Lexie:muah:

suzeeq
06-22-2008, 11:48 PM
Practice and trying out different ways to hold your yarn. Mostly it's just the more knitting you do, the more you'll get better at it. So don't worry about it for now.

CountryKitty
06-23-2008, 08:34 AM
Hi, and welcome. Ditto what the others said. Everyone has uneven tension at first. Most of the time it does even out with practice. I had to learn to hold the yarn differently--I was passing it loosely between 2 fingers just as I did for crotchet and had to learn to wrap it around my fingers to keep it tight enough.

of troy
06-23-2008, 10:24 AM
here is the good news: some of this unevenness will come out in the wash!

when you are finished knitting (the face cloth, what ever) give it the spa treatment.

prepare a nice warm (baby bathwater) bath for it.

immerse it.. let it rest in the warm water for at least 5 minutes, (but not longer than 15)