PDA

View Full Version : What kind of yarn for a scarf ?

Susannah
07-02-2008, 12:42 AM
Hello -
I am very new to knitting (just learned on You Tube!)

I have made several scarfs using just a knit stitch, and would like to make more. I have small children, so right now, I am only interested in "mindless knitting", to unwind in the evenings.

While my scarfs turned out nice, I am interested in using a nicer, more luxury yarn.

I would like to make a few scarfs for gifts. Since I am not using a pattern or doing anything fancy, I'd love some suggestions for really great yarn. I don't knit a lot, so I could spend up to $10 to $15 a skein.

I'd like something really soft, that would look pretty in a garter stitch.

Any suggestions? Thanks -

wednesday
07-02-2008, 02:09 AM
Patons SWS ( Soy wool Stripe ) come in pretty solids and long color change stripes, in manly as well as girly colors cloud9 it is soft and a lot of the box stores carry it the draw back is that for the yardage it is a little pricey IMO. I still love it and buy it every time it goes on sale or when I have a coupon. It is a little splitty but for straight knitting even a relatively new knitter should be fine.

Personally I still like Caron Simply soft for scarves, great colors, lots of yardage, very inexpensive ( $2.07 A skein at my Wally World ) easy machine wash and dry. The new heathered colors are so pretty and some of the brights just scream knit me for kid ;)

MerigoldinWA
07-02-2008, 02:26 AM