PDA

View Full Version : Ball Winder Question


DeAnzaJig
07-05-2008, 08:54 AM
Hi,
I don't have one and was wondering if I could use a ball winder to wind up yarn like Lion's Brand Wool-Ease that already comes in a "ball"?
It usually ends up falling apart at the end and I spend a lot of time untangling.
Would it be easy to do or would I just spend my time having to untangle it while I'm winding it on the ball winder?
Thanks!

Knitting_Guy
07-05-2008, 09:10 AM
Even if you wind it in a ball when it gets towards the end the ball tends to collapse anyway so if it's already in a center pull ball or skein I don't think winding it again will accomplish much.

When a ball starts getting thin that's when I normally just go ahead and rewind it by hand to prevent total collapse. Now that I think of it, is that what you meant, winding when it gets thin? If so, by that point there's not a whole lot there and it's just as easy to do by hand.

No matter what though, there are gonna be times when ya have to untangle. It's the nature of the beast.

kellyh57
07-05-2008, 11:21 AM
I wind everything! I like the looks of it and how it stores. I always go from the outside though. When you wind it, you can find any breaks or knots before you get to them when you're knitting. You can always re-ball it too if it starts to collapse on you.

Kelly