PDA

View Full Version : Need help figuring out the gauge

frogger4000
09-06-2008, 07:27 PM
Hi, I am new to knitting. I am trying to do my first pattern. The gauge is 28 sts and 36 rows = 4". So I did that. My 28 sts = 4" but my 36 rows = about 2 1/2". I am using a 3 needle. How do I get to the right measurement without changing how tight I make it? Should I get a larger needle size? If so, any suggestions of what size I should go up to? Any help would be great!

KnittinMitchie
09-06-2008, 08:02 PM
28sts & 36rows = 4 inches is done in stockinette stitch, which is where you knit one side and purl the other and it would look like the front of a sweater. It sounds like you are knitting every row which is garter stitch

suzeeq
09-06-2008, 08:07 PM
You should CO about 32-36 sts, knit about 3 rows, and put a few edge sts in garter, then knit in stockinette in the middle like knittinmitchie wrote. Then measure 4" in the middle. The reason to make the gauge swatch larger is because the edge sts aren't the same size as in the middle. You might still not get 36 rows (or 9 per inch) but as long as the sts are right, you should be okay. You might go up to the next size needle; the sts may not change much, but the rows would.

frogger4000
09-06-2008, 08:17 PM
You were right I did just knit all the rows. I didn't know what stockinette stitch ment! Thanks for the tip. I will try to do it the right way and see if I get the right length. THANKS!!

brittyknits
09-06-2008, 11:11 PM