PDA

View Full Version : Intro and q's -- books, needles

sweatergirl
09-21-2008, 05:53 PM
Hi! I am relatively new to knitting and just found this site. I learned to knit in high school when I had to knit during a play -- I just knitted one long blob during the scene where it was required. Then , about 7 years ago, I saw an easy scarf pattern in Martha Stewart's magazine and decided to knit it for my husband (now ex). I did about half of it, but never finished. It was basically a stockingette, but had ribbing and a border. Then, a couple of months ago, a friend of my family's died and left a whole bunch of half-finished knitting projects and yarn bought for purposes unknown, so my mother asked if I wanted it, and now I'm trying to finish some of her stuff. I'm starting with a baby blanket. My daughter (6) loves the soft fabric and wants to put it on her bed. What I like is that the fuzzy yarn covers a lot of mistakes.

Needle question: She had tons of knitting stuff, but I only found one set of straight needles. The rest are round. The blanket I am finishing was started on round needles, so that's what I'm using. Anything I should know about them? I'm getting used to them. Is there a reason to use them, as opposed to straight needles? Do most people prefer one or the other?

Also, she had a Reader's Digest book that I'm using called _The Knitter's Handbook_. I am not too fond of it, though, as it's difficult to find anything in it, and the instructions are unclear. Also, the writing style is rather condescending, which is annoying me. Every time I look up a problem I'm having, it seems to say this is a problem with lazy knitters. Maybe I'm making mistakes because I'm curing cancer and promoting peace in the Middle East as I knit! I'm not lazy, I'm just easily distracted! Any suggestions for good books about basic stitches and fixing mistakes like dropped stitches, holes of unknown cause and such?

Thanks!

suzeeq
09-21-2008, 06:26 PM